Ego vs Id will release their stunning debut this month, a tour de force that will no doubt put them on the map. It is hard not to fall for the band’s passion and fury filled version of guitar driven rock. With bold songs about love and pain, Ego vs Id strikes the heart with a sustaining blow. The band is equally as talented as other acclaimed rock bands gaining notoriety this year including These United States, Ha Ha Tonka, and Free Energy. The door is swinging wide open.

The band formed in the foothills town of Boulder, Colorado in 2007. Robbie Stiefel (guitar, bass, vocals) and Jesse Parmet (bass, guitar, vocals) began playing together as kids while growing up in the same suburb on the outskirts of Washington DC. The two were always waiting to find just the right crew to form a band. Jesse moved to Boulder after finishing his degree at the Berklee School of Music in Boston to reunite the duo and the golden dream was finally realized. Robbie met Nate Cook (guitar, vocals) one night at 7-Eleven during Cook’s stint on the graveyard shift. The next day the two played for a few hours trading songs. The band’s first show was at Trilogy in Boulder just two weeks later. Nick Cobbet (drums), the final missing piece of this evolving puzzle, joined the band this summer. Brian Dillon is credited with drumming on the album.

The process of writing and recording Taste was quite cathartic for the band. The four combined their energy and emotion in an attempt to create a piece of work that gets better with each listen, inspires one to take it in in its entirety, that takes the listener on a journey. They succeeded with full marks. The band began recording the album at the Sky Trail Productions studio on a large format SSL analogue board in January 2009 and it finally now reaches our ears. Of the album’s engineer and co-producer, Chris Wright, Stiefel notes, “He likes things thick but also enjoys open space. The recording console in conjunction with Chris’s recording techniques account for almost 95% of why the record sounds the way it does.”

The moving tracks that fill Taste simply sound good. Sunny “All American Love” is filled with shiny guitar riffs and sugary pop choruses. Witty lines like “we’ll inhale work and exhale rent” pervade and promptly draw attention to the band’s adeptness with words. “Lenny Bruce” is a stand out track offering stark images, gorgeous guitar intricacies, and reveals the band’s electric synergy as they roll and explode into the song’s closing notes. The depth of Stiefel’s vocals plead you to listen and it’s hard to resist that smooth tenderness and dexterity.

Taste‘s exquisite production, musical texture, and lyrical finesse continue to draw one in track after track. “Tennessee Honey” is filled with mysterious musings of a bad boy and the guitar riffs speak the same. “Landmine” and “Diamond” blast forward in true stadium rock form with wailing guitars awash with sex appeal. Cook and Stiefel howl like many rock gods before them have done. On “Jenny” EVI draw on the bounce of 50′s rock and at moments I feel as though I’m within a Rilo Kiley tune. The slow crooner “Game I’m In” is soft, sultry, and endlessly gorgeous. The chorus stays with you long after the track ends. “Cause maybe we can’t win, maybe we can’t win, oh that’s a hard way to live. ”

EVI’s debut will be released on their newly founded label, Abattoir Records, on November 16th. Says Stiefel, “We have a lot of things that we would like to do differently from others in the industry, things that most other folks in the industry seem to be getting wrong. I think the fans will notice this and appreciate it. We start by asking ourselves what we think the listener will want, what the music fan will want, and we build things from there. We’re going to be breaking some rules here and I think that it’s going to set a new standard for what a band along with their label can do.” Taste will be available digitally via iTunes and Amazon and at several independent records stores including Albums on the Hill (Boulder) and Twist and Shout (Denver). Ego vs Id’s CD Release event will be held at The Speakeasy in Boulder on Friday, November 19th. Tickets are available online through the band’s site.

Ego vs Id are kings of choruses, walls of sound, and polished production. They make rock new and relevant. Get ready to watch their career progress. Ego vs Id are fully teeming with potential.

Website | MySpace

Taste (2010) streaming in its entirety…
1. All American Love
2. Lenny Bruce
3. National Disaster
4. Tenneessee Honey
5. Hey Sarah
6. If You Really Want It
7. Landmine
8. Diamond
9. Jenny
10. Take What You Need
11. Hard Paradise
12. Game I’m In
13. Don’t Make Me Say

Download Taste through iTunes Taste - Ego vs Id

Tags: Ego vs Id
8 Responses to “Ego vs Id’s Stunning Debut Album, Taste (Streaming on Lux)”
  1. smcnally says:

    Nice, man – thanks

    Ego vs Id have been an awesome soundtrack to a late night of work thanks to you -

    • LuxIlluminates says:

      Awesome. That's so great to hear! I had the album on constantly for an entire week. It's really heartwarming that their debut sounds this good.

  2. clee says:

    i am loving this album. thanks for introducing me to this awesome new band–it’s one of my favorite reasons for visiting lux illuminates!

  3. VANESSA HUDGENS pictures…

    [...]Ego vs Id’s Stunning Debut Album, Taste (Streaming on Lux) « Album Reviews « Lux Illuminates[...]…

  4. Iowa Subaru Dealers…

    [...]Ego vs Id’s Stunning Debut Album, Taste (Streaming on Lux) « Album Reviews « Lux Illuminates[...]…

  5. flat roof repairs…

    [...]Ego vs Id’s Stunning Debut Album, Taste (Streaming on Lux) « Album Reviews « Lux Illuminates[...]…

  6. digital drum set…

    [...]Ego vs Id’s Stunning Debut Album, Taste (Streaming on Lux) « Album Reviews « Lux Illuminates[...]…

Leave a Reply